What Gear Do I Need For Bushcraft?

JodyBuchanan

I'm a beginner and I have recently purchased a few bags to carry all sorts of stuff in. I have a very nice backpack and a haversack. The only problem is, I don't have much actual gear yet. I do have a few lighters and a knife or two, but nothing like the pros own. I'm not there yet, which is why I'm writing this post. What's your advice for filling my bag and sack? What do you bring when you venture out in the woods? What are your go-to items to keep on you at all times?

KodyWallice

I have my own go-to gear when I head out, but really, everyone is different. One person may want to use a lighter for starting fires while another is determined to use only their ferro rod. Personally, I always keep a lighter on me. I use it all the time to melt the frayed ends of rope. That's a must.

Also, there are all types of bushcraft folks around. Some like to camp in tents while others sleep in the nude under the stars. Let's just say that there are "levels" of bushcraft.

I've got quite a few books on bushcraft, but Dave Canterbury's Bushcraft 101 is one of the best when it comes to laying out typical gear someone might keep in their bags. I'll list and describe some below.

To keep in your pockets, you'll need a lighter, compass and jackknife. These are probably good items to keep on you most of your life. You never know when you'll need any of these. Again, the lighter is perfect for melting the ends of paracord and the compass comes in extremely handy during most times during long hikes, camping trips or anything bushcraft. I love compasses. Finally, the jackknife is small enough to conceal and it's handy enough for cutting paracord or for notching wood for one reason or another.